• Applications open today for HKIS Awards 2024 recognizing surveyors’ role in building a sustainable future

    21 September 2023

    (20 September 2023, Hong Kong) The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (HKIS) proudly announces that the applications are now opened for HKIS Awards 2024, a biennial event that recognises the invaluable contributions of surveyors in the construction industry. With their unwavering commitment to excellence, surveyors play a pivotal role in ensuring the success and sustainability of building projects. The HKIS Awards provide a prestigious platform to showcase the exceptional work of surveyors and promote their professional image. The award briefing session today was well received that nearly 50 attendees attended, including interested parties and the jury panel formed by industry leaders and government officials.


    Under the theme “Surveying for a Sustainable Future,” HKIS Awards 2024 aim to pay tribute to the surveyors for their substantial contributions in creating a sustainable future. The Awards celebrate outstanding achievements in development projects that prioritise sustainability and contribute to a greener and more eco-friendly environment. Aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals set by the United Nations, the Awards seek to emphasize the crucial role of surveyors in sustainable development, fostering a culture of sustainable practices in the industry and promoting a sustainable future for Hong Kong. Additionally, the HKIS Excellence in Surveying Award will be presented to the project with exceptional overall quality, deemed the best among all the Grand Award Winners.

    In response to the growing involvement of surveyors in projects outside Hong Kong, a new award category, Project outside Hong Kong Award, is introduced. This category acknowledges the significant contribution of Surveyors to projects beyond the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Projects from mainland China and overseas are encouraged to participate.

    Sr Paul Wong, President of the Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors, stated, “It is my privilege to bring together the six surveying divisions and pay tribute to the remarkable surveyors who have made significant contributions to the development of Hong Kong, in Mainland and overseas. This award serves as a platform to showcase the exceptional work of our surveyors and promote our professional image to the public.”

    Sr Prof Winnie Shiu, Chairlady of the HKIS Awards 2024 Organising Committee, remarked, ” The HKIS Awards 2024 has two newly added emphases to enhance sustainable development. The first one is Sustainability Values, Processes, and Impact, which encompasses innovative sustainable practices, energy-saving strategies, government policies and procedures, as well as their environmental, social and economic impact. The other focus is Innovation and Technology, which stresses feasibility, adoption of technologies, cost-effectiveness, comfort and well-being.”

    Sr CK Lau, JP, Convenor of the HKIS Awards 2024 Jury Panel, shared valuable tips to potential applicants, “Surveyors play a vital role in building a sustainable future. I hope to see participating projects matching the award theme by demonstrating innovative technologies and sustainable solutions, in order to highlight the project contribution from surveyors.”
    The HKIS Awards 2024 is an exceptional opportunity to celebrate the achievements of surveyors and highlight their contribution to sustainable development. The award opens applications from now until 15 December 2023.

    Award Categories

    The HKIS Awards 2024  opened to all types of development projects, including Residential, Commercial, Government, Institution or Community (GIC), and Industrial projects. Both new and existing projects are welcomed. The Award focuses on the use and application of surveying knowledge and/or professional expertise across the disciplines in the respective phases within the project development cycle, accomplishing economic, environmental and social sustainability. Projects from local areas, the mainland, and overseas are all welcomed to participate in the Awards.

    * Eligible projects should possess either Occupation Permits (OP or Phased OP), Acknowledgement letters on Form BA14 or Confirmation letter of Substantial Completion between 1 January 2019 and 15 December 2023 (both dates inclusive) as stated in the submission requirements.

    Award Types

    Awards are available in 4 tiers, ranked at follow:

    *The HKIS Awards 2024 Organising Committee reserves the right not to bestow an award if the Jury Panel deems that no application is worth receiving that particular award. The decision of the Jury Panel shall be final.

    Details on the award categories, jury panel, and further information can be found at


    Paris's NEW 2024 Olympic Stadiums

    ARCHIDEX 2023: A Spectacular Journey of Architecture Inspiration and Innovation!


    no images were found