• BNP Paribas Match Racing International Regatta – Visitors’ Cup

    12 May 2012

    (11 May 2012) Vladimir Lipavsky displayed an impressive mastery of tactics and tides to emerge the undisputed winner of the BNP Paribas Match Racing Visitors’ Cup today in Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour. 

    Early morning, Race Officer Inge Strompf Jepsen found a steady 10 knot easterly in front of Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club’s Kellett Island base, and proceeded to set her course with a choice of three windward marks to allow for the customary wind shifts.

    There was a strong flood tide to start with and some adjustments had to be made to deal with drifting before racing finally got underway. 

    The format for the day was two round robins, five flights in each and two matches in each flight. The four umpire boats put in a sterling day’s work, with Tony Lu of CYA joining Marianne Middelthon, Masaaki Tanaka and Tom Sheppard to keep competitors on the straight and narrow. 

    After 20 matches, Lipavsky was victorious, with Ridgely Balladeras in second, Laurence Mead third, Morten Jackobsen fourth and Toshio Toya fifth after the Japanese team suffered a technical problem with their winch.

    BNP Paribas Match Racing International Regatta gets underway tomorrow with the round robin stage, featuring eight skippers in flights of three, totalling 28 matches. 

    Entry List for the International Regatta is as follows;

    Peter Backe (Sweden)
    Ridgely Balladares (Philippines)
    Morten Jackobsen (Thailand)
    Marty Kaye (Hong Kong)
    Vladimir Lipavsky (Russia)
    Laurence Mead (Great Britain)
    Tim Somerville (Australia)
    Toshio Toya (Japan)

    For enquiry:

    Lindsay Lyons – Race and Regatta Promotion,

    Tel.: +852 2239 0391, email: [email protected]

    Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club, Kellett Island, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong


    Build4Asia x RACE 2023 Event Highlights

    ARCHIDEX 2023: A Spectacular Journey of Architecture Inspiration and Innovation!


    no images were found